Fill returns to Hadley Select Board as Parsons reelected; $2M firetruck approved




Staff Writer

Published: 05-22-2024 3:35 PM

HADLEY — Voters are returning incumbent Amy Parsons and former member David J. Fill II to the Select Board, while approving a $2 million ladder truck for the Fire Department.

At Tuesday’s town election, Parsons, who has been Select Board chairwoman for the past year, received 877 votes, topping the field, while Fill, who previously served on the panel from 2018 to 2022, earned 667 votes. They took the two available slots over Kyle P. Dragon, who got 592 votes in his first foray into town politics.

The ladder truck passed by a 771-416 vote count, or with about 65% support. A similar vote on the vehicle last December failed.

Fire Chief Michael Spanknebel has said the 100-foot ladder truck will have a pump, hose line, supply hose, ground ladders and a 500- to 750-gallon water tank. Their existing 24-year-old ladder truck has been out of service for three months as the department awaits replacement parts.

The ladder truck, which will be built in the coming years, will be used for both residential and commercial structures, better reaching the upper stories of hotels and high-end homes.

The 1,265 voters represented a turnout of 32% of the town’s 3,953 voters.

Fill, noting the great turnout, said he is ready to be back on the Select Board after recently serving as chairman of the Finance Committee.

“I’m looking forward to getting back to work and getting things done and improving communication along the way,” Fill said.

Article continues after...

Yesterday's Most Read Articles

At a candidates forum, Fill said he would prioritize projects that have been been put on the back burner, such as ensuring the town has adequate water and sewer capacity for future growth.

All other races were uncontested, with incumbents Humera Fasihuddin and Paul Phifer returning for three-year seats on the School Committee, and Mark T. Dunn earning his second five-year term on the Planning Board.

Other incumbents elected included Jeffrey Mish for a three-year position on the Board of Assessors and Margaret Mastrangelo for a three-year term on the Board of Health, while John J. Czajkowski Jr. won a three-year seat as library trustee after being appointed to fill a vacancy, and Robert Cross earned a three-year seat on the Park Commission.

Scott Merzbach can be reached at